Menu Close

For many football enthusiasts, the World Cup is just around the corner, and the countdown has already begun. It’s an incredible experience to be able to see the games in person, and we can’t wait to bring ourselves to Qatar over the next World Cup.

What is the World Cup

For the sport of football (soccer), the FIFA World Cup, or World Cup, is a four-yearly competition in which the sport’s world champion is decided. Millions of people tune in to watch each tournament, making it the biggest sporting event in the world.

The Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) organizes the quadrennial World Cup football event, which features 32 national teams from around the world. The World champion is decided by this event.

A brief history of the World Cup

Before we go over the 2022 FIFA World Cup in detail, the first FIFA World Cup competition was held in 1930 and also was won by Uruguay, who had previously won the tournament in 1929. Apart from World War II, it has been held every four years since then and features international sectional tournaments building up to a final elimination event with 32 national teams.

There are no age restrictions on World Cup teams, so the competition is more like a match between the top players in the world. From lists given by all national organizations, referees are chosen for the tournament.

The Jules Rimet Trophy, which was presented from 1930 until 1970, was named after the Frenchman who came up with the idea for the competition. A new trophy, the FIFA World Cup, was introduced in 1970 to replace the FIFA World Cup, which had been presented to then 3x winner Brazil (1958, 1962, and 1970).

A new trophy, the FIFA World Cup, was introduced in 1970 to replace the FIFA World Cup, which had been presented to then 3x winner Brazil.

How frequent is the World Cup?

This year’s FIFA World Cup 2022, the world’s most renowned soccer competition, takes place in June. There will be plenty of time for World Cup qualifiers and play-offs, as well as a month-long competition for the thirty-two national teams.

In the four years between World Cup tournaments, qualification matches might be played. Everyone can agree that the World Cup is too large an event and spectacular to be rushed, although many people would still like to see it happen every year!

It has been held every four years since 1930, with the exception of 1942 and 1946, when World War II prevented the tournament from being staged due to the conflict.

First time in World Cup history all 211 associated nations participated in the World Cup qualification. Eighty-seven matches were played between the remaining 210 countries to determine the remaining 31 spots at the World Cup.

How is this tournament any different?

There are more games and participants in the World Cup 2022 tournament than in the Summer Olympics. As a point of comparison, the 2018 World Cup included 32 teams and 64 matches. During the 2016 Summer Olympic Games, there were 16 clubs and 32 games played.

The age restriction for the Summer Games tournament is another notable distinction between the two tournaments. Players must be under the age of 23, and each squad is allowed a maximum of three players older than that age.

How the qualifiers work

In order to qualify for the World Cup, teams are grouped into confederations depending on their geographic location. Six confederations are involved, each with its own set of rules and requirements. It began on June 6, 2019, and will end in June 2022 for the World Cup qualifiers 2022.

The 2022 World Cup qualification process began with 211 teams participating. There will be 185 teams left in the running when the new year begins in 2021. It is anticipated that 32 teams will qualify for the 2022 World Cup event.

Each confederation’s World Cup qualifier is unique and takes place over a period of several years. Teams from each confederation compete in a series of rounds before a playoff determines who moves on to the World Cup qualifying stage.